ANZAST Executive

Ian Civil – President

Ian is a vascular and general surgeon with a particular interest in trauma. He has served on a number of international trauma organisations becoming President of the Association for the Advancement of Automotive Medicine (AAAM) in 1999 and President of the International Association for the Surgery of Trauma and Intensive Care (IATSIC) from 2007-2009. Ian is a founding member of the Australasian Trauma Society and served as President from 2011-2013. From 2010-2012 he served as President of the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons. In 2012 Ian was appointed Clinical Leader of the Major Trauma National Clinical Network for the Ministry of Health and ACC, and Clinical Leader of the Perioperative Harm Advisory Group for the Health Quality and Safety Commission. Ian is Professor of Surgery with the University of Auckland and practices as a General and Vascular surgeon at Auckland City Hospital where he is the Director of Trauma Services.


Kate Martin – Secretary

Kate Martin completed her General Surgical Training in 2005. She completed her Fellowship training in General Surgery and Trauma at the Alfred, Western and Royal Melbourne Hospitals, and then returned to the Alfred full-time as a General and Trauma Surgeon in 2009. She is the Supervisor of General Surgical Training at the Alfred, and is the chair of the EMST Committee. Kate is also a DSTC Director and faculty member. Kate has taught EMST and DSTC in Australia and New Zealand as well as in the Philippines and Singapore. Kate has served on the executive committee of the Australasian Trauma Society for 4 years, and is the current president. Kate is the current chair of the EMST Committee of the RACS.




Zsolt Balogh – Chief of Curriculum

Professor Zsolt J. Balogh is a trauma surgeon, the Director of Trauma at the John Hunter Hospital and the Professor of Surgery and Traumatology at the University of Newcastle, NSW, Australia.  At these institutions he supervises the clinical trauma fellowship (orthopaedic and general) program and PhD program in Traumatology.  His main clinical and research interests are traumatic shock & resuscitation, physiological and inflammatory/immunological response to trauma, polytrauma management,  pelvic fractures and major orthopaedic trauma, abdominal compartment syndrome and postinjury multiple organ failure.




Dieter Weber – Supervisor of Post-Fellowship Training

Dieter Weber is a Trauma surgeon with the State Major Trauma Service at Royal Perth Hospital. He is on staff in the School of Surgery with The University of Western Australia and is also a course coordinator for the Masters of Traumatology with the University of Newcastle. He has authored and instructed on numerous trauma and emergency surgery related courses, and is engaged in the field of trauma research. He is a Board member of the World Society of Emergency Surgery. Locally he serves as the trauma representative for State Committee, as well as the regional representative for the Clinical Examinations Committee for the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons.


Oscar Aldridge – Assistant Secretary

Oscar is a general surgical trainee with a longstanding interest in trauma and emergency surgery. After gaining his primary medical degree in 2005 Oscar has worked for two years in Western Australia before commencing four years of service in the Australian Army, including a deployment to Afghanistan in 2010/11. Oscar then returned to WA and commenced training in general surgery with the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons. He is currently undertaking his fifth year of training and aims to achieve Fellowship in 2017, followed by pursuing post-fellowship training and a combined clinical and academic career in trauma and acute surgery. Oscar became involved with ANZAST to help facilitate and develop trauma education for surgical trainees in Australia and New Zealand.



John Crozier AM CSM – Chair, RACS Trauma Committee

John Crozier AM CSM FRACS, is a vascular and trauma surgeon, on staff of Liverpool Hospital, South West Sydney. He has Chaired the binational Trauma Committee of the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons from 2014. He serves as vascular surgical specialty representative on RACS Council. He is co-chair of the National Alliance for Action on Alcohol.  He has participated as an instructor on Definitive Surgical Trauma Care Courses from 1997, within Australia, Portugal, Singapore, Thailand and Israel.




David Read – Military Representative

David Read is a General Surgeon and the Director of Trauma & Burns at the National Critical Care and Trauma Response Centre (NCCTRC) at the Royal Darwin Hospital. He has a very broad based surgical practice but has a particular interest in Trauma and Burns, Surgical Oncology and Paediatrics. As an Army Reservist he has deployed to East Timor, Iraq and Bali. He has also been involved in the RDH response to the Bali bombings and East Timor, Ashmore Reef, and the AUSMAT deployment to the Philippines after Typhoon Haiyan in 2013.  An avid teacher, he is an instructor on EMST, EMSB, DTSC and the Surgical & Anesthetic AUSMAT course. He has extensive experience in Indigenous Health and has an interest in the delivery of specialist services to remote Indigenous communities.